top of page

Drowning Deceit

The Ethra Born series started with Gathering Darkness and continued with Strengthening Spirit and Risking Honesty.

Drowning Deceit is the fourth and final book in the Ethra Born series.

It is available in paperback and ebook from Amazon.

Drowning Deceit

 Hope is on a desperate quest to save her friend but will she find him before she is plunged into the depths of deception?


Across windswept islands

A secret war is waged

Between tradition and survival

He is a leader at war with himself

So many secrets buried deep

She is a healer, a messenger, an envoy

Not at all who she appears to be

Both of them entangled

In Drowning Deceit…


Harrison has become Falchar. He has reclaimed his birth name, has claimed the role of Kepala of the Pinnate Isles. A year into the position and he is struggling to protect his heritage, to fortify the culture of his homeland, with rival factions waging a secret war.

It’s a year since Hope left and she returns with disturbing news. Falchar’s family is once again in danger. He must find out the truth whilst holding his own secrets close.

Meanwhile, a creature of legend lurks beneath the surface, just waiting to drown them all.


Set in the Pinnate Isles, a year since Falchar was elected as leader, Hope returns with a desperate plea for help. Together, they are immersed in a secret war between the native islanders who are hawk shifters and a faction who want closer ties with the mainland using any means necessary. Whilst racing between islands, they encounter a fearsome monster that threatens everything they’ve been working towards, everything they cherish. 

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

Excerpt from chapter 1


“What’s your name?” he managed to ask before all the air left his lungs and his throat closed.

“Hope,” he whispered.



His name sounded strange from her lips. No one had called him that in a long time.


“Falchar,” she amended. “Are you well?” She spoke in the common language.


“Yes.” He cleared his throat. “Yes. It’s good to see you. I had hoped-“


She held up a hand to forestall his words.


“I do truly carry a message from your uncle. It’s Ryden. He’s missing. That’s why I’m here.”


Falchar sat back in his chair. The way she spoke his cousin’s name, the pinched look of worry around her eyes, her reason for visiting, all combined to cause an icy wash of dread.


“Please, Harrison, I need your help.”

Books: Recent Books
Drowning Deceit underwater
bottom of page